The Order of the Day
Éric Vuillard
Price  775.00
A gripping and compelling fictional account of the key meetings and events which led up to the outbreak of World War Two: how egos flourished, diplomacy failed, and a few powerful men brought Europe to the brink of disaster. For fans of HHhH and To Die in Spring. 'A thoroughly gripping and mesmerising work of black comedy and political disaster' Guardian Winner of the 2017 Prix Goncourt Éric Vuillard's gripping novel The Order of the Day tells the story of the pivotal meetings which took place between the European powers in the run-up to World War Two. What emerges is a fascinating and incredibly moving account of failed diplomacy, broken relationships, and the catastrophic momentum which led to conflict. The titans of German industry - set to prosper under the Nazi government - gather to lend their support to Adolf Hitler. The Austrian Chancellor realizes too late that he has wandered into a trap, as Hitler delivers the ultimatum that will lay the groundwork for Germany's annexation of Austria. Winston Churchill joins Neville Chamberlain for a farewell luncheon held in honour of Joachim von Ribbentrop: German Ambassador to England, soon to be Foreign Minister in the Nazi government, and future defendant at the Nuremberg trials. Suffused with dramatic tension, this unforgettable novel tells the tragic story of how the actions of a few powerful men brought the world to the brink of war.
ISBN 9781509889969Category FictionSubcategory Historical Fiction
Publisher Pan Macmillan UKImprint PicadorPublished 10/01/2019
Format DemyBinding HardbackPage extent 160
Éric Vuillard is a writer and filmmaker born in Lyon in 1968 who has written... »